contact | directions         

About Us

A native Californian, Sara Crafts has worked with horses for over 40 years, and has been a trainer for over 20. A passionate advocate for off-the-track-Thoroughbreds, Sara was an associate trainer for Blum Thoroughbreds, bringing horses that had finished racing into new jobs, and new homes. 

Starting her career under the tutelage of Sandy Arledge, Sara was very successful on the Western Show Circuit, traveling and winning throughout California and Arizona.  After purchasing a young quarter horse to bring up through the circuit, Sara realized quickly his talents belonged in the Three-Day Eventing arena.  Training “Joe” up through Intermediate, Sara gained valuable experience, and several blue ribbons before selling him to a beginner who went on to win the inaugural Jersey Fresh Event.

Having gained a passion for jumping, Sara went on to work with several wonderful horses and trainers. She was even able to work with an international trainer when her life took her to Italy – an experience that was instrumental in shaping her training techniques and her appreciation for American horses – and in particular the Thoroughbred. Her training clients benefited from all these experiences, gaining an appreciation for partnership training; a technique that has helped them to be successful in the show ring.

 

After having won several Championships in Hunters/Jumpers, Sara decided to tackle the challenge of Dressage.  Training her OTTB – Original Concept – was an experience that has been rewarding, both in ribbons and training expertise.  Now being coached by Jo Moran, Sara incorporates solid flat work into all her clients’ Hunters and Jumpers. 

Sara has worked with such renowned trainers as: Sandy Arledge, Hap Hansen, Walter Zettl, Susan Lohmann, Jo Moran and Betsy Steiner.
 
Camulos Farm has its roots in Old California, being named for Sara’s family’s historical homestead in Marin County.  The 1,800 acre Camulos Ranch was established by Ygnacio del Valle in 1853, and was carved out of the 48,612 acre Rancho San Francisco, granted in 1839 to Ygnacio's father Antonio del Valle, majordomo and administrator of Mission San Fernando. Camulos was located at the western boundary of the rancho and was originally a Tataviam Indian village known as Kamulus. The San Fernando Mission used the area as early as 1804 for raising small animals and crops grown by the Indians, who numbered 416 when visited by Inspector General of the Missions in 1839.  You can read more about this wonderful history at http://www.ranchocamulos.org.